Massachusetts Auctioneer license? Yes
- Must be 18 years old and pass a course of study by recognized
Must pass a written exam, post $10,000 bond and pay a $100 license
- Application must be accompanied by two letters
of recommendation signed by licensed auctioneers, members
of the Massachusetts
Bar or elected officials.
- Must an auctioneer hold a real estate
license if he/she will only be calling bids at a real estate
- Must auctioneer hold a real estate license if he/she
is handling all aspects of a real estate auction, including
the closing? No.
- Must a person hold an auctioneer's license to call
bids at a real estate auction? Yes.
- Must a person hold an auctioneer's
license to handle the other aspects of real estate auction,
such as closing? Yes.
- Reciprocity: Florida, Kentucky, New Hampshire,
Mississippi, North Carolina and Illinois.
- Does your state require an examination? Yes.
Auction school gives examination
- Annual license fees: Auctioneer,
- Does state require a bond? Yes. Amount: $10,000.
- Does state maintain
its own recovery fund? No.
- Does state require continuing education?
Link to Massachusetts Division of Standards site for:
Massachusetts General Law, Chapter 100
Pertaining to the Licensing of Auctioneers
Massachusetts Division of Standards
One Ashburton Place, Room 1115
Boston, MA 02108
617-727-3480 ext. 21134